Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Competition training books?

Nimitz

Can anyone recommend some good books that cover both the basics of competitive practical shooting as well as skills development and training methods? I'm new to competition shooting and plan to get started with pistol competitons and then maybe move to 3-gun if I really enjoy it. My birthday is coming up and my wife is looking for ideas ...:)

Can anyone recommend some good books that cover both the basics of competitive practical shooting as well as skills development and training methods? I'm new to competition shooting and plan to get started with pistol competitons and then maybe move to 3-gun if I really enjoy it. My birthday is coming up and my wife is looking for ideas ...:)

Books are nice, but I think as a beginner you can get more from a video. Here is a link to some basic tips.

http://www.doublealpha.biz/courses-tips/coaching-clips/

The single book I got the most out of so far is Saul Kirsch's _Thinking Practical Shooting_. Other good ones are Brian's book, Steve Anderson's dry fire book, and _With Winning in Mind_.

The single book I got the most out of so far is Saul Kirsch's _Thinking Practical Shooting_. Other good ones are Brian's book, Steve Anderson's dry fire book, and _With Winning in Mind_.

+1 on all of these.

Mike's book is great for teaching how and why to make a structured shooting program. Brian's book is great for getting the old thinker running and teaching you how to pay attention and learn during the shooting and then turn that into progress.

+1 for Cocobolo. The doublealpha clips are great for straight forward "I want it NOW" info for a new shooter.

Read, watch, THINK, plan, and then execute. Its a fun trip!

• 1 month later...

Mike Seeklander's book is great in my opinion!

I have to agree here. I work well with a structured plan. This book helps you establish your whole program as well as the structure of what to shoot, how many reps, and when to advance.