Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Most desired S&W 66

Ryan N

I am interested in getting a 66 for IDPA. This will mainly be for SSR, but I want to be able to occationally shoot 357mag. What are the desired "dash numbers" for the 66? I am pretty new to revolvers and don't really know all of the terms(yoke retention system, floating hand, etc). Heres the info I have come accross:

66 (1970): Stamping of each model.

66-1 (1977): Changed the gas ring from the yoke to the cylinder.

66-2 (1982): Eliminated pinned and recessed, slightly lengthened cylinder.

66-3 (1986): New yoke retention system/radius stud package/hammer nose bushing/floating hand.

66-4 (1994): Change rear sight leaf, drill and tap frame, introduce Hogue grips, change extractor.

66-5 (1998): Change in frame design: eliminate cylinder stop stud/eliminate serrated tangs/change to MIM hammer with floating firing pin/change internal lockwork.

66-6 (2002): Introduced internal lock.

66-7 (?): Two piece barrel and internal lock,

Thanks for your input.