Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A book by a University of Chicago psychologist explores why we "ch

I'm pretty new to practical shooting, but I saw this article some time ago and I thought this forum would like to see it. It's about a book by a UofC psychologist on why we choke under pressure, along with methods for dealing with it. (I'm too new of a member to post links, but the link is in the first couple results for "uchicago news choke" on Google)

From the article:

Choking in such cases happens when the polished programs executed by the brains of extremely accomplished athletes go awry. In Choke, Beilock recounts famous examples of these malfunctions in the context of brain science to tell the story of why people choke and what can be done to alleviate it.

Thinking too much about what you are doing, because you are worried about losing the lead (as in Norman's case) or worrying about failing in general, can lead to "paralysis by analysis." In a nutshell, paralysis by analysis occurs when people try to control every aspect of what they are doing in an attempt to ensure success. Unfortunately, this increased control can backfire, disrupting what was once a fluid, flawless performance.

"My research team and I have found that highly skilled golfers are more likely to hole a simple 3-foot putt when we give them the tools to stop analyzing their shot, to stop thinking," Beilock said. "Highly practiced putts run better when you don't try to control every aspect of performance."

Even a simple trick of singing helps prevent portions of the brain that might interfere with performance from taking over, Beilock's research shows. Whistling can help at work. "If the tasks are automatic and you have done them a thousand times in the past, a mild distraction such as whistling can help them run off more smoothly under pressure."