Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New magwell for shooters with large hands

Intel6

So it is no secret that I have very large hands, not only are they large but they are “meaty” and since I started shooting STI framed guns with magwells I have had issues because of it. I struggled for the first few years with the standard magwells without even realizing it. Until I got a .45 Eagle (doesn’t come with a magwell) and started shooting it I realized it felt different than my Edge. Because there was no magwell my grip on the gun was very neutral. I had no idea that because of my big hands my grip was not neutral at all and I was cramming my hands onto the grip and then constantly milking my grip during shooting to keep it stable. This constant milking/regripping during shooting was a big problem for me and I needed to try and do something about it. I thought about just shooting with no magwell but realized I am not that great with my mag changes and a little more magwell is always nice.

Here is a pic showing how much my hand sticks down below an STI grip with no magwell.

post-922-0-23840000-1308237545_thumb.jpg

As you can see, take that much hand and try to cram it onto a grip with a regular magwell and there is going to be a problem. What you can also see in this pic is the location of the mainspring pin is up about a ¼ of the way up on my palm. When you see in the other pics how the normal magwell flare is right below that pin hole you can see I have the flare of a normal magwell sticking right into my palm were the bones of my hand are. Below are some pics showing how a stock STI magwell fits me and how the Ice magwell fits also. As you can see the flare of the magwells in relation to the pin hole don’t offer much room for me and are basically the same thing except the Ice flares out more.

post-922-0-20442000-1308237693_thumb.jpg

post-922-0-95421000-1308237703_thumb.jpg