Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
9mmalpha

Ammo Catching @ match

Recommended Posts

I do it regardless LOL, I think it looks badass. But then again, I got the idea from watching the movie triple tap :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm so happy to see this thread get some action?

After a break from uspsa I am so glad to come back and see the same old rubbish!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know in IDPA they dont allow this ammo catching after you shoot your stage for safety reason. , Some of shooters in USPSA /IPSC do this in the match, I recently was told by someone in local match that it is not allowed anymore even in USPSA. is that something new?

i do it in every idpa and uspsa match i shoot, including idpa worlds and uspsa nats. your friends are misinformed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm so happy to see this thread get some action

After a break from uspsa I am so glad to come back and see the same old rubbish!

I was thinking the same thing the other day. I'll bet a guy could leave this forum for 5 years and come back and see the exact same questions and debates. I think everything has probably been discussed a hundred times. Only the names seem to change with time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm so happy to see this thread get some action

After a break from uspsa I am so glad to come back and see the same old rubbish!

I was thinking the same thing the other day. I'll bet a guy could leave this forum for 5 years and come back and see the exact same questions and debates. I think everything has probably been discussed a hundred times. Only the names seem to change with time.

So true.

It never gets old seeing someone post with such authority how this is " not allowed in this or that area, discipline, etc" only to have someone else shut em down with the facts a couple posts later.

At least a half dozen of those in this thread. Good times?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

newbie question: What is this flip and catch?

I let the gun eject the round and I grab it from the air like a boss :cheers:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had to DQ a shooter yesterday because he swept his hand with the muzzle while trying to catch the round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, that's probably the risk to F&C - match self-immolation by not watching the muzzle.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm waiting for someone to do the NINJA flip & catch (similar to the NINJA load). ie. drop the magazine, and cycle the gun one handed with a sudden fore & aft motion ejecting the chambered round and catching the ejected round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm waiting for someone to do the NINJA flip & catch (similar to the NINJA load). ie. drop the magazine, and cycle the gun one handed with a sudden fore & aft motion ejecting the chambered round and catching the ejected round.

gotta catch with his teeth to qualify as "Ninja"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've got to get to the range and see how to do it with my PCC

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know in IDPA they dont allow this ammo catching after you shoot your stage for safety reason. , Some of shooters in USPSA /IPSC do this in the match, I recently was told by someone in local match that it is not allowed anymore even in USPSA. is that something new?

i do it in every idpa and uspsa match i shoot, including idpa worlds and uspsa nats. your friends are misinformed

not sure if you realised but he posted that 5 years ago.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I roll it out into m hand slowly, in .40 if you rack that round out using a federal primer and it just so happens to hit that extractor just right you get a boom, and it will hurt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well.... I might as well post here too. Since everyone else did.

My name is Mike...I know Mike...get it Mike.

I am a flipper. I'm a lefty Probably M class because I'm about 90% flipping. I'm an A class shooter. You other leftys need more practice if you can't flip. The gun tosses the round toward your free hand!

I shoot a 2011 in .40 but that's not why I flip.

Its just easier to flip than dig through the sand and gravel to get my round back. I'm fine if it does hit the ground, and pretty much everyone else is fine too. Its a live round, not a grenade. Not to say that things might happen, but we all accept some level of risk when we get in our cars, drive on the open road, play a game where we run with loaded guns, shooting them as fast as we can (within reason), all for the entertainment of us and our buddies.

If we were so concerned about flying debris, we wouldn't shoot steel, we would clear the berms of any rocks or other hard surfaces, we would wear plate carriers with body armor, and carry riot shields when we weren't shooting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I pull my slide back from the rear and lock it back at the same time.

Then I catch the boolit and the slide is already back for the RO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I practiced the flip and catch last night. Now we need to start a thread about tuning for consistent ejection of a live round!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been doing it for years.... fat guy bending over in front of people takes time, and looking for the loaded round is lame and time consuming.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just let the peanut gallery deal with watching the fat guy pick up the live ammo. I catch much less grief than appearing to showboat with my mediocre skill level

Edited by Kungfurabbit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know in IDPA they dont allow this ammo catching after you shoot your stage for safety reason. , Some of shooters in USPSA /IPSC do this in the match, I recently was told by someone in local match that it is not allowed anymore even in USPSA. is that something new?

i do it in every idpa and uspsa match i shoot, including idpa worlds and uspsa nats. your friends are misinformed

not sure if you realised but he posted that 5 years ago.....

There still wasn't a rule against it 5 years ago.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know in IDPA they dont allow this ammo catching after you shoot your stage for safety reason. , Some of shooters in USPSA /IPSC do this in the match, I recently was told by someone in local match that it is not allowed anymore even in USPSA. is that something new?

i do it in every idpa and uspsa match i shoot, including idpa worlds and uspsa nats. your friends are misinformed

not sure if you realised but he posted that 5 years ago.....

There still wasn't a rule against it 5 years ago.

yes there was...FTDR

- FTDR covers anything the SO subjectively feels is not "right"...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...