Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does time slow down the more experienced you get?

lugnut

I've been shooting IDPA and USPSA for about 5 years now. In the last 6 months, I really feel like things are almost going in slow motion when I'm in a COF. Sometimes my focus is such that I can pick up on more details than ever- and maybe that is why I feel like things are going slow? I've had several stages where I feel like I was slow yet the times were faster than I expected. It's an interesting feeling that is hard to explain. Sometimes this works in strange ways though... for example: I can be shooting an array when all of a sudden I will notice the brass clear as day almost... while other times I never see the brass. It certainly depends on the type of shot. Related to this "slow" feeling is even though my IDPA classifiers are as fast as they have ever been- I feel like there are so many things that I still need to improve on... little hiccups seem to last an eternity. At one recent classifier I ran my best adjusted time yet felt like it was horribly slow with no fluidity. Strange lately.

Dave, I don't think it's the experience that makes you feel that way, but, simply that everything went "right". Your conscious mind is along for the ride, not doing the driving. I've got lot's of experience, but, most of the time if I feel I'm in slow motion, I really was! :roflol: