Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Virginia Count Scoring - Clarification Needed

PKT1106

Hey Guys- I started shooting USPSA about a year ago and ever since my first Virginia Count clssifier, have had a question. Lets say we are doing classifier 06-03, Can You Count. After performing both strings, the shooter engaged each target with 5 shots, there are no extra shots taken and the shooter performed the mandatory reloads. During the scoring, it is found that 2 targets have mikes (i know the targets are 5 feet away, just go with it).

My question lies with the mikes. Why does the shooter get miss penalties (-10) as well as the lost points from the mikes? Shouldn't the shooter just lose the points from the mikes? If you quote 9.4.4:

"Each miss will be penalized twice the value of the maximum scoring hit available on that target, except in the case of Fixed Time or disappearing targets (see Rules 9.2.4.4 and 9.9.2)."

If this is the case, shouldn't there be miss penalties for Comstock as well (because 9.4.4 only exempts Fixedtime and dissappearing targets)?

I am confused further by 10.2.2 which states(in part):

"Do not apply two different penalties for the same offense, (e.g. not firing the required rounds in a Virginia Count stage; competitor gets a miss and no procedural)"

This tells me that is a shooter misses, they should only get the lost points and not a procedural.

I know Virginia Count has been discussed, but I still can't get it straight in my head why a shooter should lose points for not hitting the target and get a 10 point penalty, even though they fired the stated COF.