Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

LMT MPR Platform?

Smokin

I am 90% sure that I am going to be placing an order for a new JP rifle for this game. I am pretty new to the multi gun community, but have been shooting tactical long range for years. I am currently utilzing a LMT MPR 16" piston rifle with an Elcan 1/4x scope. The rifle is pretty much OEM LMT except for the Geissle trigger. I find the rifle to be relatively accurate, lightweight and extremely reliable. That being said, I can also see the advantage of the side charging handle, JP's handguard, and a longer 18" SS barrel. My question to this group is, is it really worth another $3K ? To qualify that, I am wondering if I am just for a different handgaurd, nicer machining, and a side charging handle. I ultimately want to have the best equipment, and will spend the money if needed, but would rather not if all I am gaining is a side charging handle. Thoughts?

The mrp is a great upper (but very heavy) have you thought about getting an 18' barrel with a nice comp (I put the rolling thunder on mine)?

The barrel is so easy to swap why not try that?

That is a great idea. If it boils down to an 18" barrel that is the primary driver for the change, I'll definitely go that route. For a comp, I am currently using a surefire brake on my 16" and find it pretty effective. I wouldnt be opposed to putting a different brake on if it was noticeably more effective. The surefire seems to work well and allows me to quickly attach a supressor for hog hunting.

I have an MRP upper that I used when I started 3-gunning. I originally had the MRP configured with a shorty barrel but as you guys are discussing, I put a 18" rock barrel in it. That barrel is very accurate, but the system is heavy as Carlos mentioned. I eventually switched to a 3-gun dedicated JP upper. Note my MRP is a traditional DI-system.