Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What's a good draw time?

EurAzn12

I'm fairly new to IDPA, but not to competitive shooting. Just curious what a "fast" draw time is. I shoot CDP and I've been practicing with my 1911 and Blackhawk Serpa holster both concealed and non-concealed... From buzzer to trigger pull at 7yds I've been averaging 1 second (no cover garment) and 1.5 w/ and not "point shooting" all hits in -0

Both sound fairly fast. There was a "spiffy" IDPA shooter at the last match I saw, and his draw was about 1.4ish, from concealment. For USPSA, I think the "spiffy" shooters have about a 1.1ish draw.

Quick draws don't typically win stages it is everything that you do after that.

Precisely. Or as an instructor once told me: "it's not a race to the first shot; it's a race to the last shot".

Thanks, the comments are appreciated. At my first match it was my draw that held me up big time, I took 3rd by like 20 seconds and I had 0 dropped point on 3 of 5 stages, I think it was mostly due to the fact that my holster was crap and I was using a hoodie that kept snagging the grip... Since then I purchased a 5.11 vest and Serpa holster :) My last range visit I practiced the draw, double taps and a bit of the mozambique drill. Trying to get out of the service pistol slower rate of fire habit is a pain

Transitions and reloads. Movement to positions. Get that gun on the next target faster and get an accurate shot off. You'll do that 2 to 18 times more in any given stage than you'll draw. That only happens once.

.3 secs off a draw will not win a match IMHO.