Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

MacBook Pro, MacBook, or MacBook Air?

PistolPete

I'm starting a new business and I need a dedicated computer and have decided to go with a Mac laptop. I was originally thinking of just buying a Macbook Pro but was curious if I really need the Pro or not. The computer will be for storing information etc. etc. of course. All of these computers will be able to do this without issue. I also want the computer to be good for building videos and photo effects etc. I will be creating a lot of videos and want a computer that has decent editing capabilities. I'm a total newbie when it comes to editing but plan on taking some classes etc. to get better at this. What are the pros and cons of each model and will I be better off shelling out the money and just buying the Pro or will the others be perfect for what I need? I won't be playing any video games or anything on this machine so no worries there.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

Actually from seeing the performance of MacBook Pros and Mac Towers, MacBook Pros do pretty well especially if you go 15" and higher. In fact, 13" dealt with Final Cut Pro a lot better than I would have imagined. However, when it comes to actually rendering the video, you are gonna see a HUGE difference between a laptop and its tower counterpart. At least from my experience, it's probably because our MacBook Pros were dual-core while our towers were 8-core to 12-core versions. Cost between a pimped up MacBook Pro laptop and Tower is between 2500 dollars to between 8000-10000 dollars for the towers. This is extreme though, considering you've never edited, at least for now the laptop would do fine. As much as I try to avoid the little shiny buggers, I got to admit that its laptops are a powerhouse when it comes to video/sound editing.

• 1 month later...

I just went from a 15" Macbook pro with 4GB of RAM to a 27" iMac with 8GB of RAM.