Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Light strikes with major loads only

latech15

I have been shooting a new to me SV 9mm open gun for a few months now with minor loads only. I just got in a shipment from Montana gold and decided to try major loads. I put in new springs and made up some autocomp loads and tried them out. At first i was getting 1in 10 light strikes with no bang and it got to the point where it was more like 5 in 10. Barely a dimple in the primers. I swapped mainsprings sit my limited gun, firing pins, fb springs, recoil springs, nearly everything I could think of.

I tried the pencil trick, where you drop a pencil down in the barrel and see if it will shoot out just from the firing pin hitting it. It would shoot out but only a little bit. I swapped msh's with the limited gun again, and still wouldn't shoot it out nearly as far as the limited gun. I have ordered a new 17 lb ms and a xl firing pin, which I think will fix the problem but it is really bugging me. Anybody got any thoughts as to why?

Oh, btw, minor loads still fire off perfectly.

CCI primers in both cases. Most will NOT go off if shot again. Every once in a while I get one where I can thumb cock the gun and it will go off but most won't fire at all. I tried as many as 5 times with some rounds.

OAL is different. The major stuff is loaded to 1.170 and the minor stuff is a tad shorter. I can't figure out how that would make a difference, but you guys are smarter than me so I thought I'd throw it out there.

The three on the left were the minor PF stuff that did go off. The one on the right was major PF that DID go BANG.

IMG_0727.jpg?t=1301848306

This is a close up of the major PF one.

IMG_0728.jpg?t=1301848426

Here are two major PF ones that wouldn't go off with four tries.

IMG_0729.jpg?t=1301848484

No, actually the other way around. I used Hornady One shot with the minor stuff and nothing on the major rounds.