Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

45 ACP - 200gr RN/Clays Data

flyingfrog

All,

I am new to reloading and have done several exhaustive searches for IPSC load data. I, after reading many posts and speaking to several friends, decided to try out 200gr RN over Clays. Looking through the reloading books and on the Hodgdons web site they have no 200gr RN data for Clays only 4.3 for SWC. Has anyone toyed with this combination before, I am sure you have, and would be willing to pass on some info. As this is my first foray into reloading, I would hate to create a load and be afraid to shoot it. From the information that I could come across I loaded up about 30 rounds with 200gr RN over 4.3, but I have not taken them to the range. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Welcome Flyingfrog! You are a good man for doing the research 1st; my load in my 1st year of USPSA was straight, plain old Clays under a 200 gr. PLATED round nose (you are talking about the copper electro plated RN?).

As you noticed from Hodgdon's data, it is not possible to make major with a 200 grain plated bullet and straight Clays using published limits. I used a charge (use at your own risk) of 4.5 grains of straight Clays under a WestCoast 200 RN loaded to 1.260"; this made new major out of a 5" STI Edge. I never had pressure problems of any sort. The STI had a ramped, fully supported barrel. Again, use at your own risk.

Keep up the questions! We are here to help. Regards, C.

Carlos,

Thanks for the quick reply. I am actually using Precision (and I use the term loosely after weighing them) coated bullets. This again was on a recommendation. I have read good and bad things about the Precision rounds, but thought I would give them a shot. I had the same thought on the max load and not making Major. So that in fact terrified me to load 200 over 4.3 and be out of max load recommendations.

Frog: