Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide Racker Placement

Sarge

I had dinner with some open shooters last night and spent a few hours talking about guns, mags, etc. The topic of putting my slide racker on the strong hand (right) side of the gun came up. I'm new to 2011's and was wondering if it would be wise to do this until I learn to keep all my moving parts out of the way of the guns moving parts.:surprise:

I've posed the question to my gunsmith to see what his thoughts might be on the subject as well.

Does it make sense or is it a little too much caution?

Too much caution...it won't be a problem.

It's faster on the left side (for a righty) and props the gun better for table starts. I know, I know, somebody, somewhere will swear that they have the racker on the opposite side, and that they're just as fast as everybody else, but it's farther your hand has to move from touching the racker, to reestablishing your grip. R,

Guys, he doesn't mean for any length of time. He's talking about maybe for a month or so till he gets used to making the switch from a Glock Prod. pistol, to a full boat open gun. I suggested he take it off, or simply flip it over to the RH side until he can learn to keep all moving parts inside the vehicle at all times.

:)

(I learned the hard way after getting my thumb smacked HARD one time, and I never "flew my thumbs up" again!@) :roflol:

Edited by Chris Keen

Too much caution...it won't be a problem.

It's faster on the left side (for a righty) and props the gun better for table starts. I know, I know, somebody, somewhere will swear that they have the racker on the opposite side, and that they're just as fast as everybody else, but it's farther your hand has to move from touching the racker, to reestablishing your grip. R,