Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Export Acrobat form data to EZWinScore?

Is there a way to export data from an Acrobat PDF match entry form into EZWinScore for registration? I have zero experience exporting Acrobat form data, but I assume it'll let you do the standard tab-delimited text or whatever. But, can you import it into EZWinScore?

That would be so freaking cool.

Uh... no, there isn't any built-in functionality to import registration data from ANYTHING into ezws. The best you can do is (if you have a version of ms office with Access) to create your competitor data externally with access and build the competitors table within the specific match .db file from that, but THAT is an error-prone exercise at best and can cause you real problems in actually scoring the match.

Bn

Erik,

You'd have to do a text export out of Acrobat (no comma delimited that I can find) then write a program to parse it into a DB file. Not trivial, but not the end of the world. If this is an issue that you run into over and over, it might be worth pursuing a solution, but if it's a one shot deal, it's easier to do the data-entry.

Agreed with Bill and Eric. I just toured the import old database function in EZ-Winscore and found this to be a dead end. I also opened a EZ-Winscore .db file in a text editor and found the data fields to be incompatable with either of the Acrobat data export formatting options and field order.