Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Upgrading to 64 bit

twodownzero

I've had 64 bit processors for years, but I've never bought a 64 bit operating system. I've finally reached the point where 32 bit won't support the RAM I'm running alongside my video card and I'm wondering if you guys have any suggestions.

I can get an "upgrade" to 64 bit Windows 7 for $8 through my school because I'm a student. The only problem is that one must own a copy of Vista 64 bit in order to use it.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to pull this off without buying a full licensed copy? To me it seems like it'd be a waste to spend $150 on Windows 7 home or something just to "upgrade."

That is, unless there's some other method by which to get a license of which I'm unaware.

Check with your school to see if you can get the vista operating system also. Sometimes they will have the full copy you can buy cheap. If not, new computers are getting cheaper and might be cheaper to just buy a new one. Weigh the odds and go from there. Full copy of the operating system, 150 or so then the upgrade. New emachine 200.00.

If you bought Vista, the box contains both the 32-bit and 64-bit discs. There is only one licence key in the box for both.

I hate to be the bringer of bad news, but as I recall, you can't install 32-bit Vista and then upgrade in place to 64-bit Windows 7. You'll have to start out with 64-bit Vista.

On the other hand, I believe that with the File and Settings Transfer Wizard, you can "backup" most of your files and settings on the 32-bit OS, install Windows 7 clean, and then "transfer/restore" once you've got Windows 7 running.

Check with your school to see if you can get the vista operating system also. Sometimes they will have the full copy you can buy cheap. If not, new computers are getting cheaper and might be cheaper to just buy a new one. Weigh the odds and go from there. Full copy of the operating system, 150 or so then the upgrade. New emachine 200.00.