Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie here - what mag holders do I need?

bigg_jon

I'm sure this has been covered before, but I had trouble finding exactly what I was looking for.

Ok, I'm planning on shooting my first USPSA match this year. I'm going to be shooting in Limited-10 division with my Kimber Custom 45. First stupid question: In limited division, there is no restriction on equipment (holsters, mag pouches, belts, etc.) right? I mean could I use the same fancy rigs that the open guys are using?

Anyway, back to my main question. I don't plan on buying any super fast race holsters yet but I do need some mag pouches. I've seen recommendations for Safariland, CR Speed, and Limcats, but if I buy one of those, do I need to get one of those 2-piece belt things? Or can I just attach them to a regular one belt system?

Also, are there any other cheap mag pouches that work just as well as the above mentioned ones? I would prefer ones that had some adjustment to them.

Thanks for the help and sorry if this has been covered before.

Jon

There is a ton of stuff on Mag pouches here...

Pouches, Holsters, belts are the same. But for the 45's it may not work as well.

If you use 1 belt, it must go through your belt loops. If you use the single mag pouches with the adjustments, this could take awhile. I guess it could be done, but I'm too lazy.

The Uncle Mikes kydex belt pouches work really well, and they're cheap - I'd avoid the paddle types (they cut into me going down for low ports). They don't adjust, but if you get used to them, it's really not a drawback. For a 45, you'll need to carry 6 mags (or even more) - I have 2 double pouches, 1 inserted, and 1 in my back pocket - when there's a very large COF, I carry 3 in my back pocket...

Holsters... For the Kimbers, I think the Kydex holsters work best, the 'race' types don't seem to hold them well, they're more designed for S_I's, etc. There may be one that works well, but try it before you buy it.