Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help with choosing a Limited Gun

:huh: I am very new to the USPSA sport, matter of fact I've only been shooting since late October and attended my first local USPSA match this past Sunday just to watch and learn. I was very surprised to see how friendly everyone was to a Newbie especially the ROs who spent many hours with me trying to explain the match and how everything works. :rolleyes:

I will be shooting a Springfield TGO 1 (which I have yet to fire) in the "Limited 10" since that is the only gun I have that will fit in this class. I am looking to purchase a "Limited" double stack gun and would like some suggestions as far as what would be an excellent choice. I don't mind spending the money for QUALITY craftsmanship now rather then buying something for less and having to pay even more later to upgrade to something better. I know these guns probably don't come with a warranty so it's important that they stand behind their product. I know many will have their opinions and that is fine, I'm looking to be pointed in the right direction. Thank you Brian for your help and I hope my Levitation system equipment gets here in time for my first match.

Newbie,

The tool of choice for limited division is the modular frame pistols as manufactured by STI or Infinity, in 40S&W caliber. I would say that a second option would be the Para-Ordnance P16-40. These are all based on the 1911 design. There are other names and designs also in use, such as the Glock 35 and the CZ IPSC.

The S_I's you can get them as they come from the factory and should work fine as such, then you can add your personal touches as you see fit as time and practice dictate. Or you can order them from different gunsmiths (Brazos, Ross Carter, Dawson, among others) and purchase a truly custom pistol with your personal specs already built into it.