Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Florida Open Pictures

Just thought I'd share this. I emailed the studio that took those pictures. The smaller prints offered were $7.50 each. I inquired as to the price of the jpg images just for web purposes......$10 each. Ouch! Seems kinda backwards don't it?

Chris,

I'm not so sure. Digital cameras and computer equipment/software depreciate so rapidly now, that the cost of doing business has shot through the roof. When I started shooting professionally, the major camera makers were releasing a new Pro model every ten years. Now it's every two. The two new cameras I bought 25 months ago for $ 10,000 have been discontinued. They were selling for about $2700.- new just rpior to that. Replacements will be out in April, at a probable street price of $8000-9000 for a pair. The files the new cameras produce, are twice as big as the files from the last, necessitating the acquisition of more storage media (compact flash cards) and most likely new computers. Price the high-end gaming set-ups and you've got an idea what it takes to process images for a living.

I looked at a few of the images --- and this photographer appears to be a professional sports photographer. I'm pretty sure he's making a middle-class income.... not more.

I haven't bought any yet but plan to. Your reasoning makes sense Flex. The guy is just trying to make a buck. I know I've taken pictures of shooting before with regular cameras, digital, and video and you sure as hell can tell the difference when you see a professional's shots.

I was planning on buying on few JPGs, but that was before I got his price. I'm not opposed to anybody making a buck on their work, but I think those prices are taking "making a buck" a bit too far.