Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Scopes for Open Guns

AikidoGirl

I'm new to IPSC shooting.  Right now I'm shooting a 45 caliber open gun with open sights.  My question is, what kind of scope should I use?  I have been told that the CMore or holographic scopes are hard to see in bright sunlight.  I live in southern Texas so the sun is most definately out most of the time.  Thanks in advance.

Whoever told that the cmore is hard to see should go for an eye exam. It is adjustable for intensity. Right now it is THE scope. The Optima is making some progress but still to early to tell. Rumour has it that C-more is coming out with a scope the size of the Optima. I'll wait and see. C-more has won a bunch of titles. Try out a couple different styles and see what you like.

The C-more is a good scope..has a lot of time in the winner's circle. I used to shoot one till I quit open class a few years ago. I am now doing the search for a new scope too. But from what I remember...and being told again..most people are like a 6 to 8 minute dot as it is big enough to keep from getting washed out in bright light on white steel and precise enough for tight shots. All the dots will tend to wash a little in a specific situation, but as I remember it is no big deal. I have used the tasco pdp series back in the early days of scopes, the Aimpoint Comp model and the c-more. I was happy with all, one of the common complaints was people trying to find the dot on the c-more..most of that was them trying to look through the tube and having a inconsistent presentation of the gun to eye level..no big deal with the right training. Good luck to you...try a bunch of different scopes out..most people will let you..

Hey anyone have an opinion on the Gilmore Leupold LG35 model???