Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Should i be concerned?

waynes_world_45

I am brand new to Open and just ran 1k rounds of 9mm major with 8.0gr of HS6 with a 124gr MG CMJ with CCI SPP....before I read that y'all use magnum primers.

should I be concerned with my loads? are they unsafe?

I am shooting an SVI with a 3 port comp (see avatar)

Thanks, guys

Nothing really unsafe about it. The SPM or SR primers help avoid primer flow/smearing, that can clog up firing pin tunnels, or cause shavings that find their way into the extractor tunnel etc. They are slightly less likely to blow out, but I'm not sure how much...regardless, if you get to that point, things are already out of hand.

The big question is how do your current primers look on fired cases? Are they totally flattened, cratered, smeared, or do they look reasonably normal? R,

no, the magnum primers are typically used to get a better 'hotter' burn, more complete if you will, back in the day we usedto run small rifle primers because of primer flow, nowadays especially with the advent of XL firing pins that has been put to bed. your CCI primers are 'harder' than most so you should be fine, just look forthe usual high pressure signs...ie..flattened primers/little to no firing pin indent etc...

I'll have to check the fired brass I kept.

I made sure to load 1X fired brass, but is the brass that I shoot out of this gun safe to reload in my production gun, or should I just let it lie where it falls? (which I do at matches, but I save practice brass)

I shoot mostly .38SC, but I have a 9 Major gun, and I don't reload that brass...even for Minor loads (which are often very high pressure because of fast powders and heavy bullets). I know some folks do reload it, but I also know that some folks have seen it be pretty badly oversized and need roll sizing to make it work properly...it's just not worth that much trouble to me. R,

Edited by G-ManBart