Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

d_striker

d_striker

I never thought about starting one of these but after reading some other member's logs and learning from them, I decided that it may help me improve my new addiction by documenting my progress/failures. Also, I travel a lot for work which means I spend a lot of time in airports looking for ways to kill time.

I feel I should preface this log by saying I post on forums using my iPhone most of the time because I'm too lazy to fire up my laptop. So if what I type doesn't make sense or is misspelled, that is the reason. Especially if I type shit instead of shot.

I grew up in the midwest around guns from an early age. After leaving home for school in 1998, i didn't touch a gun for eight years. I bought a pistol in 2006 and started punching paper again. I thought I was a pretty good shot until I started shooting steel challenge and underwent a humbling reality check.

As mentioned above, my first introduction to competitive shooting was shooting steel challenge a few years ago, making it to about 4 matches a year. While I haven't been able to shoot as much as I would like, I felt that I improved with every match due to receiving tips from Hoser and a lot of other great local shooters.

I shot my first uspsa match down in Pueblo and was instantly hooked. Just what I need...another addiction to spend money on. I've shot two matches so far and am on my way to getting classified. I'm thinking I'll be classified as a C shooter in Limited. My rig is an XDm 40 and have slowly started accumulating accessories for it and customizing it.

Things I learned from my first match:

1.) Shooting Limited Minor sucks if you can't hit A's fast.

2.) Time is important...This isn't Bullseye shooting.

3.) I need to work on calling my shots.

4.) Planning how I'm going to shoot a stage does not mean I will shoot it that way once the timer goes off.

Things I learned from my second match: