Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"blake" Drills Vs. "bill" Drills

dirtypool40

I know it's probably out there somewhere but I couldn't find it.

Recently "Black bird" and I were practicing and he wanted to hit a Bill drill. Standard, hands relaxed 7y, 6 alpha. I've never really practiced them before but I did one then and again the next day.

I had a standard "El Prez" three target array set up for some VP's and other drills, so I shot some "bills" too. I am not that quick on the trigger but I was getting under the 2.0 par time clean almost every time. Draws around .95, splits hovering around .19. (It was nice to see that without ever practicing it I was ok, if not really spectacular. But I digress....)

The slow splits got me thinking. Most of us have seen Blake Miguez and his "alien" speed tranisitions. Hmmm.....

Could I make up the slow trigger finger (and heavy trigger on borrowed gun) with good movement???

I started shooting what I call a "Blake drill"; 7y hands relaxed, draw and 2 each on three targets. I know it's nothing revolutionary, we've all done it, but I never really looked at the timer before.

My transitions on any sort of "El Prez" type array run about .30, splits on targets .20ish. But after a little practice I got things down to .18 for the split and .20-.25 movement in the transition.

My best Bill the second day was a 1.85 with a .91 draw. The best "Blake" was.....1.85 with a .91 draw. IDENTICAL?!?!?! Transitions still hovered around .05 slower than splits but they are improving.

I know it's nothing earth shattering, I just wondered if anyone else used and analyzed something like this.

If I can throw in a sub 1.0 reload I can shoot for a 4.0 VP at 7y. NEW GOAL!!!

Thanks to MAtt and BLake for showing me something else I needed to work on.