Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"You Were Lucky"

benos

A PM with a member reminded me of this... I wrote the shooters version of the Monty Python sketch, "You were lucky," (from Live at the Hollywood Bowl) years ago. It could be my all time favorite Monty Python sketch. Me, Henning, Robbie, and a couple other shooters were planning to record it just for fun. Henning even bought some recording equipment - but then we dropped the project when we realized that, since we are not actors, we sounded like idiots. 

06.05.19 I added the Monty Python video at the end of this Thread.

“YOU WERE LUCKY”

Who would have thought 20 years ago, we would be sitting around here in all our glory discussing the virtues of the "Seeless" versus the "Misspoint."

Yeah, back when I started shooting, all we had were singlestack 45’s.

Fortyfives! I used to dream of having a 45. I was lucky to have a gun magazine with a picture of a 45.

Gun magazine! Huh! I had to save for 6 weeks to buy a used gun magazine from our  ‘hole-in-the-wall gunshop and he could only afford to stock one gun.

But we enjoyed shooting more then, when we were poor.

Because we were POOR!

I remember back when I was first shooting matches, no one even thought of making an optical sight.

Optical sight! I was lucky to have an adjustable sight on my old gun.

Adjustable sights. I was lucky to have a Micro fixed sight that Clyde from the Pistol Parlor gave me off one of his used pistols to put on my first comp gun.

You were lucky to have a comp gun. Back when I was shooting steel matches in the gravelpit all I had was a 5” gun with a 6” Barsto barrel.

Six-inch Barsto! That was the trickiest gun I’d ever seen. I was lucky to have a 5” government model that my wife bought for me for christmas with the money she saved from babysitting.

But of course I had it tough. I started shooting with a old Browning Hi-Power with a Bomar rib. It cycled so slow you couldn’t fire a split faster than 2 tenths of a second.