Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I've been stationed at FT Sill, OK for the past two years, and have been a member of the Oklahoma Shooters Association almost the entire time. It's a site for ALL shooters, not just competition shooters. It's been nice meeting guys, through the website, that live close to me, and to be honest, OSA is responsible for getting me into USPSA......or at least a few of the members are responsible.

Since there was nothing like that for the state of Alabama, and since I'm moving to Alabama, I started a website to fill the gap.

My problem though, is that for one, I'm brand new to web design and if you check out the site, you can see that it's not very "flashy". But, my biggest problem is getting people to the website. The people that do find the site, usually join, if they are from Alabama. However, my site rank is almost non existent, so when people google my site, it doesn't come up.

I've been reading about how to fix this, and one of the best ways is to get other sites to link to my site.

Now we get to my real question...........how to ask someone to put a link to my site on their site? It sounds like a simple answer, but I just don't want to put someone in an uncomfortable situation.

Also, does anyone know anything about getting advertisers? I don't want to make money for me, rather to have contests and pay for members match fees, t-shirts, and stuff like that.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

BSG

Edited by Brad_G

I noticed that your Keyword and Description META tags do not have any descriptive text of your site. That would definitely help. I am a programmer and do most of my work on websites. Not so much with design, mostly with the business logic and database functionality. If you have questions about building your site just send me an email.