Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AFTEC Caps Breaking

CocoBolo

My 9 major shorty has broken two AFTEC caps in about 2k rounds of use. I checked it over last night the firing pin block has the radiused edges. I looked down the hole and don't see any rough edges or anything. The springs were a bit dirty but not enough to bind.

Am I just lucky or is this common or should I look for something.

When the cap isn't broken the gun runs 100% but then it breaks and you get a jam on every long course.

Edited by CocoBolo

I've been using Aftec's for around 4 years and never had that happen, although I do use supercomp and not 9mm. I have replaced springs, but I have never had to replace the cap.

Well said I have not had this problem with my other guns, they just keep running, just clean the tunnel every 2k or so. I replace the springs once a year. So the caps breaking in this one has me looking for a reason they are breaking. All 3 of my open guns run the same 9 mm 38 Super Comp extractor, of the 3 the one that is having the issue has a tighter fitting firing pin stop but the radius is there and with out the springs the aftec swivels in an out freely.

I've been using Aftec's for around 4 years and never had that happen, although I do use supercomp and not 9mm. I have replaced springs, but I have never had to replace the cap.

Well said I have not had this problem with my other guns, they just keep running, just clean the tunnel every 2k or so. I replace the springs once a year. So the caps breaking in this one has me looking for a reason they are breaking. All 3 of my open guns run the same 9 mm 38 Super Comp extractor, of the 3 the one that is having the issue has a tighter fitting firing pin stop but the radius is there and with out the springs the aftec swivels in an out freely.

Ron,