Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloads cause slide to go into battery

Wellison

Ever since I started shooting competition 6 years ago I've rarely had to sling-shot the slide into battery after a slide-lock reload. This has been true with both Glocks and my M&P. I've always thought this was a good thing since it's saved me the time of manually charging the first round. But recently I've read here in these forums about feed lip problems caused by slamming magazines into the weapon too sharply. Have I developed a bad habit or is this desirable?

-Will

I don't seat the magazine in my "self closing" Plastic M&P any harder than I have done with other guns for years and years. Magazine lips are holding up well.

I had my first bad experience with the effect the other day. The slide went forward faster than the magazine could bring up a round and I had a "bolt over base" malfunction that cost me a lot of time to clear.

And, if you read all the posts about slamcharging one of the biggest concerns is getting in the habit of doing it and then the gun fails to do it at the most critical time. This costs valuable time as well. My G34 does it but I try real hard to not get used to it.

Then again I also try even harder to not get to slide lock if I can help it.

Yep, it happens and, as far as I can tell nothing is wrong with it but don't get used to it. It's guaranteed that as soon as you get used to it, it will not happen to you.

I remember in a Todd Green class we did, he mentioned (but no names) not to get used to slamming the mags home hoping for the slide to drop because no matter how often it does it, it won't do it reliably. Apparently one of the students was seen, after seating his mag, slamming the bottom of the mag a few times to try to get the slide to go forward.