Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Barrel Length for USPSA

RevolverJockey

I have a Carmonized 5" 610 I am very very pleased with - it performs, I typically don't. I also have a stock 610 with a 6.5" barrel. Is the extra bit of sight radius worth the rebarrel and for those running 6.5" barreled N frames, did you get any weight taken off? I am young (30) and have good eyes, 50 yard targets don't seem to be a problem if I take my time, and the handling and making major in the 5" isn't an issue. Just kicking the idea around because I have the second wheel. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Lee

I have no experience with a 610, so take this for what it is worth. I shoot a 5" 625 as my regular USPSA gun and started out with a 6 1/2" M-25. The 625 has a full underlug and the 25 does not. The difference seems to balance out. If the 6 1/2" 610 has a full underlug, it might help with recoil and muzzle flip, but will be harder to transition with to targets. In ICORE I have been playing around with a 8 3/8" M14 and while it shoots great, it is a little whippy during transitions. Hope this helps.

I shoot 5 inch, 6 inch, and 6 1/2 inch model guns in USPSA.(.45 cal)

I have been to the range with all lengths, and on the timer there is no difference in my normal drills.

I would spend the money to change barrels on bullets and practice if I were you.

If your 610 (5 inch seems to me the best of all worlds) shoots good (2 inches or less at 25 yds) off a sandbag or ransom rest type holder you have a revolver good enough for any USPSA/ICORE match in the US or elsewhere.

I really like my tapered barrel 6 and 6 1/2 inch guns, but I'm kind of a traditionalist.

Good luck, good shooting. Make the trip to Memphis this November, and you'll get to see more revolvers than you can shake a stick at !!!! :cheers: (Memphis Charity Challenge) ;)

Hopalong

you ever see that 200 yard shot bob munden made with that little snub nose revolver on youtube?