Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DAO trigger pull speed technique

Gary H.

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to larger caliber pistol shooting. Have shot a Mark I Ruger since my youth and am familiar with competetion shotgun shooting. My problem comes when I try to shoot the DAO revolvers or even my new M & P Pro 9 while shooting steel plates. For a newbie, I can post some impressive times with a new Mark III and decent times with my STI Sentry in 9mm. When I pick up the M & P though it takes like what seems forever for that 5/8" or 3/4" length of pull for the DAO trigger. Trigger weight is acceptable on it with a clean break when it gets to that point, but getting it to that point is where I have problems. Do the competetion trigger jobs help with this amount of take-up (sorry for the terminology but thats the best I can do). Is there a technique that I just am not getting? With the length of movement in the trigger, when I try to speed up, I'm pulling the POA/POI off. I've been dryfiring for a couple weeks now and it doesn't seem to be helping. I can control it then but when I get on a run of multiple shots in a row is where I have the problems. Any ideas or do I give up on the DAOs?

The M&P is not DAO, it's striker fired. The Pro trigger is already pretty light and short. A trigger job can make it better. I suspect if you're having problems shooting the Pro fast, you need to work on your grip and dry fire a lot, because it's among the best stock production triggers available.