Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Jeff Tollar

tollarja

I've been procrastinating long enough. We'll see how this goes. My name is Jeff and I'm a shootaholic. I am 29 years old and I have been shooting pistol since October 2009 and USPSA since November 2009. I learned to shoot in the Marine Corps (1999) which consisted of a slow fire rifle qualification every year. I also had the opportunity to become a rifle and pistol coach and I helped Marines correct issues during live fire. I was a great coach because I cared about helping Marines improve.

I initially "classified" as a D in production, became a C within a couple of months and just classified as B this month. It took me a month or two to become bored and uninterested in classification and since then it has become easier to do well. I also find that when I perform poorly it is getting easier for me to shrug off the disappointment. All part of the focus on improvement not results zen talk in these forums.

I don't really get nervous anymore and I have been improving steadily. A few weeks ago I learned that I can call shots and control recoil for proper front sight behavior. I imagine these two things go hand in hand. I have yet to consistently implement either of these things in weekly matches.

As a competitor I tend to hit mostly alphas, and have longer total times. Charlies feel like misses to me. My slow times are mostly from slow movement. I don't leave or travel as fast as I would like and I don't get settled quickly enough. I am 253 pounds of recoil management material and my inertia is difficult to overcome.