Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Polishing up the trigger?

ww2golfer

Ok, first off, hi everyone. Was recommended here by a handful of local guys and been browsing it for a while. Well I just got a Gen 4 17 and worked up enough courage to detail strip it, and I was to do the ol ".25 cent trigger job." Well I got everything apart, and I know what to polish BUT I am still unclear as to what to use to polish. I am a college student with no dremel and what not. I found "polishing liquid" from home depot called Blitz, and I found like various polishing cloths. I would prefer to find something in store, the Blitz is online only. In the instructions online the guy has a tube of something and I'm not sure what it is. ANY help on the whole process is appreciated too, been around guns for a while but new to glocks. Heres a pic. Thanks guys!

post-25505-12794310696_thumb.jpg

You really do need a Dremel tool with felt wheel, and a good metal polishing compound like Flitz or Simichrome. Of the two, I prefer Flitz. Never heard of Blitz; not saying it might not be great but I know that Flitz works well. A hard and soft Arkansas stone to smooth out the big flaws in the stamped parts to start is, I feel, also a necessity. I'm not convinced this is really a job that can be done without the right tools. :)

i agree that you should get a dremel, it makes the whole process very easy. as polish goes i have used mothers mag polish you can get it at walmart, autozone or any other automotive store. my buddy used it to polish his 1911 barrel and feed ramp. turned out nice and shiney.

i agree that you should get a dremel, it makes the whole process very easy. as polish goes i have used mothers mag polish you can get it at walmart, autozone or any other automotive store. my buddy used it to polish his 1911 barrel and feed ramp. turned out nice and shiney.