Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How many mags for Limited?

twister

How many mags do I need to have for Limited? I'm new to Limited,I thought I'd ask first. Thanks for any help, Dave

I ususally have at least 5 or 6 in the bag, just in case I want to shoot L10,but if you are going to shoot limited and your are going to do 2 reloads on a stage, I want 4 mags, just in case of a bobbled reload. 1 in the gun, 3 on the belt at start.

More is better, but most folks run with one in the gun and 2-4 on the belt. Don't think in terms of rounds - no one is planning to run through 100 rounds on one stage - think in terms of how many reloads you might have to do due to jams, fumbled reloads, mandatory reloads, or stage layout.

Minimum 3 total .....assuming you are holding around 18+ rounds in each mag.

Optimal 4 total

I run 1 in the gun, and 3 on the belt for a total of 4. Just in case you drop a mag during a reload, one falls from your belt while moving, or you get a jam and have to drop a mag after only a couple rounds from it.

18x3=54...... total rounds on a stage is 32max, assuming no misses or make up shots or jams. That is why you need at least three. Plus, you should not be shooting till you are empty and then doing your reload.

Randy

OK, thanks for the quick replies. I'll be using three on the belt, one in the gun. Thanks, Dave

Four on the belt really is much better. I was starting the last stage of the CO state championship a couple of years ago when "it" happened. I opened up the door after the buzzer and as I went through, the doorframe pulled two of my mags out of their pouches, dropping them on the ground. This was a 32 round field course with a TON of steel :surprise: