Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

J Katz's Range Diary

jkatz44

Hello,

My name is a Jason Katz. I am a 13 year old junior shooter. I have been shooting for almost 1 1/2 years. Currently, I am an A in Production. I thought I would start a range diary to check my progress and receive help from you guys. I am going to post videos of me shooting matches and hopefully, you could give me some pointers and tell me what I could have done better.

Here are videos of today's Tuesday Night Match.

P.S. Sorry for the horrible quality.

Stage 1

Stage 2

Stage 3

Stage 4

Stage 5

Once again, any tips are appreciated.

• Replies 173
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i envy you to be able to be starting this sport at that young of an age. I didnt even know it existed when i was your age, haha.

As for tips, about the only thing I saw at first glance was you seem to take a lot of extra steps when moving laterally. For instance, when you move to the right, you take a bunny hop to the left and plant your foot then take off. You could probably save some seconds here and there by twisting your plant foot and simply pushing off instead of re-stepping to plant and run ( if that makes sense).

I'm sure others will come around with better advice, but there's the input of a C shooter for ya ;) . keep up the good work!

I just watched your 4-20-10 match videos. Your aggressive and explosive movements are good. When you need to move when you can’t shoot you MOVE and that is a huge plus. Keep that up and always strive to be aggressive in your movements. I have listed below a few common issues in your shooting. Work on polishing up these areas and your stage times will drop dramatically.