Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load Data for .45 acp Speer Gold Dot HP 230gr

craigulator

I use mostly HS-6, AA #5, Win 231 and Clays. If anyone has any load data sources for this projectile it's greatly appreciated. I have the AA, Hodgdon, Sierra, Lee, Lyman and Hornady reloading manuals, but not the Speer manual. I am loading for self-defense in a 5" Kimber. Sources seem limited, I've checked the tacked data on here and many other sites. I ran into this problem with Remington Golden Sabers for .45 ACP but finally found something that works really close to factory.

My speer manual states load tested at 1.200 oal

AA#5 7.0-7.8

hs-6 7.2-8.0

231 5.0-5.6

clays is not listed

does it give an fps interpolation for HS-6 or any of the others? it's for self defense, so I'm not worried about it being too hot. The HS-6 will probably need to be a bit higher to get a thorough burn anyway. It's my first time loading the Gold Dots...the factory loaded stuff performs really well in my gun...i'm striving to mimic it.

My speer manual states load tested at 1.200 oal

AA#5 7.0-7.8

hs-6 7.2-8.0

231 5.0-5.6

clays is not listed

does it give an fps interpolation for HS-6 or any of the others? it's for self defense, so I'm not worried about it being too hot. The HS-6 will probably need to be a bit higher to get a thorough burn anyway. It's my first time loading the Gold Dots...the factory loaded stuff performs really well in my gun...i'm striving to mimic it.

HS-6 7.2gr 702 fps 8.0 799 fps

aa#5 7.0 687 fps 7.8 792 fps

231 5.0 683 fps 5.6 765 fps

Speer's online specs for the 230gr Gold Dot is 890 fps, and the challenge I see is finding a load that will push that fast without going into the 19,500-20,000 pressure areas. Not sure if you'll ever find the actual load, but you may be able to mimic the behavior. What I found for jacketed 230 gr bullets that looked promising included:

7.0gr IMR 800-X 900 fps (max Hodgdon load)

6.8gr Longshot 908 fps (I think this is a max too)