Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cypress

Members
  • Content Count

    23
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Cypress


  1. We had an interesting thing happen at our monthly match. A PCCO shooter stepped into the box, was given LMR commands, shooter ready, standby, beep...BRAAAAAT BRAAAT BRAAAAAAAT. The shooter swept all of the targets in three bursts of what we thought was fully automatic fire. The RO looked as puzzled as everyone else. We halted the course of fire and asked if his gun had broken. You could tell from his facial expression and body language that he knew exactly what he was doing and meant to turn some heads. Turns out, he was running a bump stock and had planned to use it the entire match. We asked him if it could be locked out, and he replied yes. The RO (and everyone else) told him to lock it out for the remainder of the match. He complied with the request until his final string on his final stage, to which he belted out one solid string of bumpfire nonsense sweeping the targets. 

     

    He had already "removed" himself from the scoring by sitting out a stage or two, so he was given a no-score for the match. Aside from disobeying the orders of an RO by dumping on his final string, is there anything else that could have been handled more officially? I didn't see anything in the Steel Challenge rule book about bump stocks, but the USPSA rule book specifically states a procedural for the first infraction, then a DQ for the second infraction. Are Steel Challenge rules tied to USPSA rules? 


  2. Best tip I follow: Get your hits.

     

    Slow is smooth, smooth is accurate and faster than you think. As a newer shooter I always rushed stages due to adrenaline and trying to mimic the cadence of better shooters which got me a lot of C's D's and Mikes. Turns out, what I think is "slow" during my stage is much faster than I thought.  

     

    I ran a stage once as an Unclassified Limited shooter and tried to tie a GM Open shooter's time. I actually beat his time but ended up with a HF of 3.8 to his 9.something. I could hear the laughter from my friends all the way downrange. If I had taken another 1-2 seconds, doubling my alphas and dropping my Mikes, I may have won the stage (in Limited). The bonus of being a newer shooter (for me anyways) is you shouldn't be worrying about your placing, which allows you to "try stuff". If anything, it's entertainment for the rest of us.


  3. I once sent off a .11 split during speed steel with a stock Glock 19, but ended up getting second because my transitions were slower. A fast trigger finger is only as good as the recoil management and sight tracking, which I guess would be null with some of the Open guns I've shot. 

     

    The question echos: could you be accurate with a .16 split? If not, your splits times may not matter.


  4. On 11/9/2018 at 9:04 PM, lefty o said:

    use caution when cutting and polishing on stock parts. the surface hardening is very thin. dont take much to cause yourself big problems.  

     

    +1

     

    We were running drills a month ago and my friend's AR kept randomly double tapping due to some kitchen table gunsmithing (used gun, not his bad). He handed it to me and sure enough, every 3rd, 4th, or 5th shot came out as a pair. Totally unpredictable. It was both scary and funny at the same time. 


  5. Digging up a necro post, but this may be helpful.

     

    My Gen 5 G19 (2nd version with magwell cut out, but properly finished frame) was hitting ~4" left at 15 yards. I drifted the rear sight to rectify the issue, but don't notice it when shooting. When I was cleaning the gun months later I noticed inconsistent wear on the barrel and slide. I inspected a bit closer and saw that the slide had been drilled a little to the left of center, causing the barrel to point left. It's a bummer, but I'm happy with how it shoots. 

     

    Drifted sight:

     

     

    0.jpg


  6. 2 minutes ago, motosapiens said:

     

    nothing to call there. I'm a little more confrontational than you are with bad RO's, so I might have set him straight. While it's definitely good practice to face directly downrange to ULSC and reholster, it's not required.

     

    I figured he had nothing on me officially. With the way he was treating the shooters in our squad, any verbal reply I would have given him would be a good bit more than "open the rule book and show me where it says I need to be perpendicular, and what the hell an "almost DQ" is."  


  7. On 9/21/2017 at 11:55 AM, motosapiens said:

     

    It comes across as a lot less dickish and will get a much quicker response if you just say, 'show clear again please, I didn't see that' or something similar explaining *why* you keep repeating yourself. Yeah, I know that's not an official range command. I've used it and I've had it used on me by some *very* experienced certified RMs  and it worked just fine and no kittens died.

     

    This 1000%

     

    A polite request will be remembered a hell of a lot better than repeating an already repetitive command. When I first shot with a hammer-fired gun in competition, the RO caught me guiding the hammer down gently with my fingers. He politely asked me to show clear again and drop the hammer with the trigger, he then explained that doing so "proves" the clear condition in case a mag was still in the gun, etc. Hearing him re-word a relatively simple command showed me that he truly understood the rules well enough to explain it to the layman. 

     

    On the other hand, we had an out-of-town RO a few months back that aggressively called people out on everything that wasn't "perfect". I got called on reholstering while not being perfectly squared up with the downrange line. He also told me he "could almost DQ" me for going "170 degrees" during my COF. I gave him a blank stare rather than opening my mouth.  Dude just made everyone tense in an already high-energy situation. 


  8. Had this happen to a shooter at yesterday's match. 

     

    He accidentally triple-tapped a target in Virgina count. The holes showed 2A, 1C. The RO explained that the shooter would have done himself a favor by missing one of the shots, but the Open gun probably ensured all three landed on cardboard. The target was scored as 2A, 1 extra hit, and the shooter was given a procedural after the Range Clear.  


  9. Just now, IHAVEGAS said:

     

    ?

    Normally when firing the last round the trigger is still held back while the slide cycles with a empty mag. 

     

    Maybe I misunderstood what the OP was trying to accomplish. I read it as manually racking the slide, not using a final shot. I can't picture why anyone would need to manually rack a slide on an empty mag (during a match), aside from when the slide doesn't lock back on empty. If the shooter is about to dump the empty mag and reload, a finger in the trigger guard is grounds for a DQ. But again, maybe I'm reading into it incorrectly. 

     

    Quote

    10.5.9 Failure to keep the finger outside the trigger guard during loading, reloading, or unloading. Exception: while complying with the “Make Ready” command to lower the hammer of a gun without a decocking lever, or while initially loading a revolver with a spurless hammer.

     


  10. On 8/5/2018 at 6:53 PM, andrewtac said:

    At an area match, i called a DQ on a guy who shot what I think I remember as 13’ from where we were standing.  When I said if finished unload show clear, I did my normal pause and he tried to beat the hammer down call.  Gun went bang.  Had I said if clear hammer down would have been a DQ.  Similar, there is no specific rule saying he can’t do that.  Everyone knew the shooter thought he unloaded and was dropping the hammer (he left the mag in when he cycled).  The Senior RM I believe wrote most of or had a large part in writing the rules.  Was it unsafe, nope round impacted the ground and stopped.  Just like the OP’s shot, went into a wall then berm, nothing unsafe.  Maybe the rules have changed since then, but sounds like they haven’t.  In both situations I personally probably would have stopped, but that is not in the rules.

     

    there is a thread here somewhere on here, many of the same points came up.

     

    Was the shooter DQ'd or not? 


  11. Just now, motosapiens said:

     

    The non-scoring border outside the perf of the front target essentially doesn't exist. The part of the hole that is inside the perf of the front target doesn't score on the back target, but the part of the hole that is outside the perf does score on the back target.

     

    This makes things super clear for me. Thank you!


  12. 5 minutes ago, motosapiens said:

    there's no law that says perfs have to be lined up. you earned a no-shoot. Your option in the future is to not hit no-shoots.

     

    The only way you could argue this is if the targets were replaced at some point, and they were in a different position than when other people shot them.

     

    There'd be no way to prove they had moved, but I understand what you're saying.

     

    Also, my teammate kind of echo'd your response: "You deserved the no-shoot for shooting that crappy anyways!" ?


  13. I did a USPSA Action Pistol match recently and got called for hitting a no-shoot (white) that was erroneously sticking out from behind a target. I took the picture after they taped, but the perf on the front target is punctured. The other side of the COF is mirrored and doesn't have the no-shoot sticking out from behind.

     

    I was scored as hitting a no-shoot, and when I asked for clarification on whether or not the stage was set up improperly, the reply was one of "Everybody shot the same stage and had no issues with this. Sorry about your bad luck." I accepted the score as-is and happily shot the rest of the match. I'm not bitter, but more intrigued by what happened and was hoping you guys could shed light on my options if this ever happens again in the future.

     

     

    0.jpg

    IMG_9062.JPG

×
×
  • Create New...