Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RadarTech

Classifieds
  • Content Count

    363
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About RadarTech

  • Rank
    Sees Sights Lift
  • Birthday 11/09/1971

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Real Name
    Jim McBurnett

Recent Profile Visitors

642 profile views
  1. If it is obvious and you can determine the score, this is a non-issue.... If it is obvious and you can’t determine the score... still a reshoot...
  2. Still 9.1.4. If there are extra scoring hits or questionable penalty hits thereon, and it is not obvious which hits were made by the competitor being scored, the affected competitor must be ordered to reshoot the course of fire. IMHO, it is an extra hit and I can’t determine the score...
  3. In that case it is a reshoot for sure... Since you can’t tell if it should be an A or a C, that makes it an extra scoring hit...
  4. See this is totally different... If the shots came from that shooter... and it went thru the scoring target to hit the no shoot.. then 9.1.5.1 applies.... and the penalty does not apply... If you can’t be sure of the penalty and think maybe it didn’t go thru a scoring target then 9.1.4 reshoot (questionable hits)
  5. 9.1.4 does mention a questionable penalty hit... now if you can say it went through a scoring target and then hit the no shoot... 9.1.5.1 applies. How would you classify a penalty hit? What target or target type or hit is a penalty hit? 9.4.2 mentions a penalty for no shoots. Making no shoots a penalty hit. Another questionable penalty hit would be a hardcover hit that makes it a miss.. Or it’s an extra hole making it an extra hit penalty on a Virginia count stage.. Just realize a penalty hit can be looked at several ways.. it may be a no shoot, an extra hit, or oversized, making it not meet the definition of a hit in 9.5.5 This makes 9.1.4 applicable.. So if there can’t be a shoot thru from scoring to penalty targets, then someone got a Gift.. meaning this was an unpatched target..
  6. So let me make sure I understand this... The shooter took no extra shots and there is no way a shot hit the no shoot and a scoring target. The no shoot also could not have been as a shoot thru from any other target. So what you have is an unaccounted for hole, that this shooter could not have made. So in this instance, are you saying you can’t accurately determine the score for this shooter? In that case, rule 9.1.4 comes into play.. Unrestored Targets – If, following completion of a course of fire by a previous competitor, one or more targets have not been properly patched or taped or if previously applied pasters have fallen off the target for the competitor being scored, the Range Officer must judge whether or not an accurate score can be determined. If there are extra scoring hits or questionable penalty hits thereon, and it is not obvious which hits were made by the competitor being scored, the affected competitor must be ordered to reshoot the course of fire. Reviewing previous score sheets is prohibited; targets must be scored as is, using the actual target as the basis for the scoring call.
  7. Read as shorter and rounder....
  8. Options— A shorter competitor can’t keep up with a taller competitor, making options may give a shorter competitor a chance to beat a different more athletic competitor. It is not and should not be a triathlon. It should be shooting skill.. So if a shorter guy can shoot that 40 yard swinger and avoid a position, and do it fast— that may equal the athletic guy shooting it at 15 with the extra movement.. Or mag change locations.. In the end it should always be a puzzle that the skills and abilities of the competitor determine what way works for them. We can all set a stage up with only 1 way to shoot it.. but what fun is that?
  9. Remember a couple things when looking at 3.3. 1. The USPSA President CAN authorize a local rule.. but last time I asked there were none. 2. Local laws take precedence.. if a law says you can’t do something— then that takes effect.. ie mags, as in 3.3.1.. the most common local rule I've heard off is no reloading with the muzzle over the berm... that usually ends matches... the other “local” rule I’ve seen people not happy with—- is no PCC on the range... but that is permissible as a club does not have to have that as a division... I can name at least one club that does that...
  10. Check this rule... Last sentence. 5.2.5.3 Unless specified in the written stage briefing, or unless required by a Range Officer, the position of holsters and allied equipment on the belt must not be moved or changed by a competitor during a match. If a retaining strap is permanently attached to a holster or magazine pouch, it must be applied or closed prior to issuance of the “Standby” command. A bungee used to secure the gun before and after the course of fire is likely NOT permanent....
  11. IIRC at my last count 33 certified RMs but I think there are some that don’t RM Majors anymore. Plus 10 RMIs. While I can’t say I’ve always been so adamant about the visible beyond the 180... I am now... And I have shot majors as a competitor where I wasn’t on staff and there was the same discussion points had here. RE it is on the competitor. I don’t agree with that.
  12. I can say for sure that major match stage reviews as submitted to NROI are highly discussed for 2.1.4... On one match I specifically said on paper I see a 180 issue on stage 2.. targets 3-6. I will add extra barriers to fix when we put them on the ground. And it was a major discussion point in the RM course. Just my quarter worth..
  13. M There are some interesting issues here... 1. WHAT does the WSB require? The phrasing is important.. . ie if it says reload AFTER array 1–then if you shoot array 1 and then reload but then re-engage array 1 you have then re-engaged array 1 and need to reload again... but if you shoot array 1 reload shoot array 2 then send a makeup on array 1 — it gets really squirrelly... you could do a reload to comply with the WSB, but it won’t affect your time.... cause you won’t be firing shots... but an astute RO might assign procesurals for failure to comply with the WSB... 10.2.2 or if it says engage array 1 and then reload before engaging array 2.. this is a real gamer statement... you could fire 1 shot at ARRAY 1, reload and then engage the rest of 1 and 2... In the end... the WSB is very important.....
  14. I dropped a note to Troy... Let’s see what he says... maybe we will get a rule edit...
  15. The first sentence clearly says OUTSIDE the shooting area then says wholly beyond the shooting area... so does being inside the shooting area meet that??
×
×
  • Create New...