Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Jollymon32

Classified
  • Content Count

    199
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Jollymon32

  • Rank
    Looks for Target

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Weston-Broward County-Florida
  • Real Name
    Andrew Medina

Recent Profile Visitors

893 profile views
  1. Gents Thanks for all the input. Here’s is what I understand: 1) Flagging a PCC is a requirement in both sports 2) In neither of the sports, the failure to flag is considered a DQ. You need to address the issue is all. I have also learned a powerful lesson for the “DQ first, ask questions later” crowd and that is to ask them “state the DQ rule that you would apply to the event (hint in USPSA it starts with ‘10.’)”. Thanks!
  2. Gents Under SCSA rules, is not having a flag in a carbine a DQ? Can you quote the rule that makes this a DQ? I know nothing of SCSA. Thanks
  3. If that occurs, you don’t call the range clear and repeat the command.
  4. I’m sorry bud, I thought you were responding to the original post.
  5. So it is not the first stage and somehow the RO on the previous stage screwed up and after they ensured the firearm was clear did not follow through to ensure that it was flagged. Do we DQ the shooter on the next stage? And if you do so, what rule do you state?
  6. Well, he is the on deck shooter - no need to take corrective action - being that the only corrective action to take is to ensure the gun is not loaded and put in a flag. But if you were a stickler for the rules, you could take corrective action of having him put a flag in, and then issue the Make Ready command again and he takes the flag out - not sure why you would do that, given that he did not take the firearm out of the bag until the RO issued the Make Ready command (see original post, "uncased on the line, under RO supervision ).
  7. And yet 5.2.1.4 provides for not having a flag: "A chamber safety flag, or clear chamber device must be used at all times and be visible externally whenever the firearm is not in a case or sleeve.". It even provides how to address a situation where a flag is not present and the firearm is not in a case or sleeve "Anyone found in violation of this rule will be immediately escorted by a Range Officer to a suitable range or safety area where appropriate corrective action shall be made" What the rules do not provide for, anywhere, is a DQ for not having a chamber flag. In reality the simple answer is to provide the rule that you would quote when DQ'ing the competitor for having an unloaded PCC without a flag.
  8. This would make SIGNIFICANT sense as the two who were saying is was a DQ are Steel Challenge competitors (and REAL GOOD competitors at that - most likely GM's).
  9. Second stage. I know where you are going with this. And this was inquired into.
  10. To be clear here, the RO THOUGHT there was a safety infraction and escalated to the RM to make a decision - in my briefing to them they were instructed that when in doubt, stop and call me. The range lawyers that I mentioned were not the RO's but the competitors.
  11. I was working as RM for an L2 match this weekend. Got a call from a stage. RO informs me that the PCC shooter did not have a flag on his carbine when they unbagged. I ascertained that the shooter carried the PCC in a backpack that covered the trigger guard and that he had uncased the PCC on the line under RO supervision. I ruled that there was no harm no foul whatsoever under 5.2.1.4, specifically quoting the usage of the word “whenever” (bold and underlined below): A chamber safety flag, or clear chamber device must be used at all times and be visible externally whenever the firearm is not in a case or sleeve. Anyone found in violation of this rule will be immediately escorted by a Range Officer to a suitable range or safety area where appropriate corrective action shall be made. I also mentioned the similarity of the second sentence to 5.2.2 in the case of a firearm with the hammer cocked, and that there is no harm and no foul SO LONG AS THE FIREARM is not loaded. However, there was significant discord among range lawyers that this represents a safety infraction and one in which a DQ is warranted (no DQ was given - I ruled and that was that). Subsequent review of the rules shows absolutely no reference to a DQ for a failure to have a safety flag on a PCC, just corrective action in a safe area. The DQ offence is IF the firearm is loaded. So, what say you all – is this the correct call? Please cite rules as there is a delicious chicken wing dinner that rests on the balance of the outcome!
  12. Best USPSA match is at Okeechobee Florida. Monthly level 1 match featuring 8 to 9 stages for $32. It is like having an L2 every month for $30. They also have 2 gun outlaw, action steel, and SCSA on different weekends. Homestead has USPSA and SCSA monthly as well. Makham park has USPSA matches but usually limited to 3 stages because of the single large bay limitation they have.
  13. That gun just came back from CZ Custom, they put in a new 11 pound spring and guide rod. Maybe 1k rounds ago...
  14. In my practice session, my Shadow’s recoil suddenly became sluggish - the speed required to go back into battery taking longer. After close to 100K rounds fired through multiple CZ’s, you become keenly aware when something is different. The very next round failed to feed all the way into the barrel. Something slowed the slide backward motion enough so that it did not have enough power to feed the next round and go into battery. This happened twice. Since I recycle all the brass I looked through all of the casings and found a single split case. I can’t be sure this split case came from this session though. i have experienced this in the past and have attributed to a dirty pistol. I have put lubricating oil in the grooves the slide rides on and this may have ameliorated the issue (or not, maybe it was just a single isolated case). Anyone else experience this? Any clue of what may be going on? BTW- reloaded ammo, 130 power factor, coated lead bullet. Thanks
  15. Seems to me that it is you who needs to brush up on the rules....
×
×
  • Create New...