Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About facedown

  • Rank
    Looks for Range

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    Northern Illinois
  • Real Name
    Tom Palmer

Recent Profile Visitors

344 profile views
  1. Not to mention that you can't mandate reloads on a long course even at a club match.
  2. Unlike Poppers, metal plates are not subject to calibration or calibration challenges. If a scoring metal plate has been hit but fails to fall or overturn, the Range Officer shall declare range equipment failure and order the competitor to reshoot the course of fire, after the faulty plate has been rectified. A plate that has been hit more than once and falls or overturns before a Range Officer can stop the competitor, will be scored as hit and there will be no reshoot issued. As to the squib, IMO, the RO had made the decision to stop the shooter and had begun the command so that's the end of it. Reset, reshoot.
  3. Yes, an arc or "radius" consistent with the competitor's bullet diameter as judged with an overlay.
  4. Appendix B2: At least 25% of the A-zone must remain visible around hardcover or overlapping no-shoots.
  5. The rule was updated last January to read: "Optical/electronic sights REQUIRED; must be attached directly to slide between rear of slide and ejection port, and may not be mounted to the frame in any way" http://uspsa.org/document_library/2016/APPENDIX D7_DNROI_3.pdf found at https://www.uspsa.org/uspsa-rules.php
  6. The Carry Optics rules require optical/electronic sights so since these are neither I don't think they would be legal there either.
  7. Probably not for Production: Appendix D4, item 13. Hard to see how it could be construed to be a "notch and post" sight.
  8. You can use weights in Limited (or Lim 10) but a mounted flashlight puts you in Open.
  9. It took a bit to find it but a ruling from a few years ago reads: If a competitor's gun is partially dislodged from his holster while outside a COF, and the competitor "traps" the gun in the holster (trigger not exposed), he may do so without penalty. The competitor should immediately proceed to a safety area and address any necessary equipment issues. If the competitor's gun has left the holster (trigger is exposed), the gun must be treated as dropped. Even if the competitor is able to "trap" the gun before it falls to the ground, he must safely and securely lower the gun to the ground in accordance with and call for an RO to safely retrieve it as per 10.5.14. Note that drawing and/or handling a firearm outside a safety area remain prohibited actions subject to DQ per 10.5.1 I'm not allowed to post links but it was from within a discussion of this same topic on an older thread titled "Retired and coming back to compete again". Search for "trapped gun" in the rules forum and that thread will be in the list.
  10. As long as the muzzle doesn't point more than 3 feet from your feet.
  11. It also don't say anything about issuing warnings. If the RO misses something and a fellow shooter or friend in the squad wants to point it out ("Like whoa, that was a little too close on the 180" or "better move that finger a little further from the trigger when you move"), so be it. But its not the place of the RO to issue warnings. Did they DQ or not? Nothing messes with the competitor's head more than some RO giving out warnings for something that they only thought may have happened. Bill Actually, it does: 8.6.1 No assistance of any kind can be given to a competitor during a course of fire, except that any Range Officer assigned to a stage may issue safety warnings to a competitor at any time. Such warnings will not be grounds for the competitor to be awarded a reshoot. I agree that they should be used judiciously.
  • Create New...