Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Problem with Dillon 550B primer seating and platform height

davester00

Problem with Dillon 550B primer seating and platform height.

I am new to reloading and after reliably reloading 500 .45 ACP rounds I wanted to start to babble in the depriming/resizing of .223 rounds.

So I took off the tool head with the .45 ACP setup (did not remove or readjust any of the dies). I removed the shell plate (removal of brass set screw and the platform bolt) and locator buttons and switched to the shell plate and locator buttons for the .223 and a tool head that I designated for just resizing and depriming .223 station 1 and trim on station 2. After I adjusted the resizing die to deprime and create the correct headspace I figured out I was running out of time and I need to start to reload my .45 ACP if I want to start shooting this week.

I noticed once I reinstalled my .45 shell plate and locator buttons and toolhead set up for .45ACP, my the primer seating station seemed to come up too high when handle is stroked all the way forward. If I was to load a live primer in a de-primed case it seems that I would come up high enough to smash a primer and possibly set it off (Picture 1). Also when I when to de-prime a case it seems the platform moved about .1” of an inch up. This .1” of an inch is about the same height as a primer.

So my problems are the platform now moves about .1” in both directions. Direction 1 the seating of primers and direction 2 the resizing, belling, seating and crimping of the bullet.

See picture 1: Does your 550b primer set station go up this high?

See picture 2: Case 1 (Far Left) is what it did before I removed and replaced the shell plate and screwed things up. (middle) is how much far down the bullet is pressed deeper so the difference in height is that of a primer. (right) is the over belling of the case.