Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do classifiers really represent a full skill set test of a GM?

CHA-LEE

Please forgive me as I am new at this and have only been participating in USPSA matches for less than a year. This topic may have already been covered.

But…….. From the solid GM’s I have seen shoot, the basic processes of drawing, shooting, reloading and so on performed in the average Classifier stage is a very small snapshot of what makes these shooters so good. Sure their ultra fast and accurate execution of these basics is usually far above most of us. BUT, where they really distance themselves from most shooters is their efficient and effective movement through a stage as they are engaging targets. To me, the quality of a competitors movement and shooting abilities though a stage greatly defines their current skill level. I am sure you guys have seen this as well. Not to mention their uncanny stage analysis abilities and knowing what THEY can or cant do effectively for a given stage.

So here is the question……Why do the Classifier stages rely so heavily on the pure basics of shooting and not so much on movement while shooting or even stage analysis? Movement and shooting while moving through a stage is a lot harder to master and execute effectively than the basic mechanical process of drawing or reloading. The same goes for breaking down a stage and knowing what the best plan of attack is for your given skill sets.

The classification percentage you receive from a major match performance should hold a lot more “Weight” in your classification listing than the basic Classifier Stages which can be “Hero or Zeroed”. The major match result percentage will be a better representation of your current overall skill level. At least I think so.

Edited by CHA-LEE

• Replies 126
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My 2 cents