Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A more in-depth set of question on the thumbs-forward grip

ER_STL

As some of my past posts indicate, I've been studying the thumbs forward grip in detail for the last three years. I've really wanted to understand and analyze why it works and why someone can't simply grip an auto with their thumbs locked down and achieve the same results, provided that they stay neutral. After all, if people have been shooting revolvers fast for decades, why can't they run an auto the same way? To me it's a much more natural grip and concept - to simply make fists and grip down on the gun.

In understanding how to deal with muzzle flip (and ignoring the backward force of the recoil itself that is usually absorbed in the arms and body) I looked at how an auto moves in your hands when a shot is fired. You can obviously see that a pivot point is created where the tang of the gun meets the web of the strong hand. Given where we can put our hands on the gun (the grip and not the slide, where we would have the most leverage to counter muzzle flip), we can achieve the most leverage with the strong hand by keeping it has high as possible on the back of the gun. This part makes sense to me.

What confuses me though is why the support hand is used in the manner that it is. Why do we rely on a side-to-side pinching action of the hand to generate enough friction to try and snap the muzzle back down to target (and to keep the hands from coming apart)? I know that personally, if I don't grip with enough force to hang onto the gun, my hands will start to separate during rapid fire (assuming everything else is neutral and I'm not pushing and pulling). That's fine but to me this puts a requisite on grip strength. A G19 with ball ammo may not be a problem but what about shooting guns that are lighter and more powerful? Also, what happens if my hands are greasy and sweaty?