Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock Recoil Springs

ParaJoe

I wasn't sure if this was the place being as I am talking about springs or if it should have gone in the Glock forum, but if I'm wrong someone will move it. Anywho, I busted my factory guiderod in my G22 and bought a stainless steel one to replace it. Along with it I bought a 13lb and 15lb ISMI spring. I put the 13lb in it and ran about 50 rounds through it no problem. Same with the 15 pounder. I liked the feel of the 13lb better. Which one should I use? The 13 or 15. Sorry, I'm new to playing with springs.

JOe

Well when I put the 15lb spring in it was REALLY long. Right around an inch and a quarter longer than the 13lb'er. It also smashed when the slide went all the way back. From what I interpreted through the vast amount of info on this site, smashing the spring is bad. So I ended up hacking off four coils, one at a time, until it fit in there without binding (I think that's the term.) It then felt the same as the 13lb spring when racking the slide. But not when shooting it. Please correct me if I am wrong, have ruined my 15lb spring, or am being a moron.

Edit.. I didn't chop the 13lb. It worked like a champ.

JOe

Edited by ParaJoe

I tried both 13# and 15# ISMI springs in my Glock 34 and Glock 35. They shoot softer, but the trade off in reliability was not worth it for me. After a couple malfunctions in matches I finally realized that the stock guide rod is the best. Gun works every time!

• 3 weeks later...

i have a ismi guide rod and 13 and 15lb spring, the 13 seems to not fully go into battery, the 15 with minor loads seems to barely eject the cases and i have had jams with both.

it is a glock 35..now i am unsure myself. should i go back to the factory setup?

I run a 13# ISMI with a couple of coils cut for major and a 10# spring for minor in my G35. Never had a problem with either.

How light is your striker spring?

DaG