Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Loose Bullet

steved57

Okay - First off I hope I am posting this in the correct spot - secondly I am new to reloading (reloaded 40 years ago) so anyway I have a Dillon 550 and set it up as per the instruction manual

I loaded a dozen .357 magnum and shot some of them and all seems fine - but then I noticed I can spin the bullet in the case - I can't pull it out but can spin it - and I don't think the case looks 

correct from what I remember many years ago

So I am using new Winchester brass,  Hornady 125 g xtp bullets,  18.4 grams Winchester 296 ball,  COL is 1.580, and CCI 500 small pistol primers

So after I run the brass thru the resize die it is .375" , I am flaring .020" per Dillon manual and set crimp die per manual which is run down to touch shellplate  and then 1/8 turn more

Any help / suggestions would be very much appreciated

See attached pic of the finished round with the shoulder approx. at base of bullet

.357 bullet.jpg

Edited by steved57

I believe that your problem is that your crimp die isn't adjusted correctly. It shouldn't be crimping the case down that far. Try this loosen the crimp die enough to not touch the case. Then raise the ram up and tighten the die until it just touches the case. Tighten the die while raising and lowering the ram and checking the crimp. You should just be removing the bell and adding a slight crimp to hold the bullet in place to prevent setback. Run a couple rounds and pull the bullets to check your crimp, there should just be an impression completely around the bullet not squeezing it to deform it.

Edited by microham
Miss spelling

There shouldn't be a shoulder like that, certainly not where the bullet part of the brass is smaller than the rest of the cartridge. If anything, the top of the brass should be wider than the bottom, because of the bullet.