Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"Graduating" to an open gun?

BenAlpha

Hey there! I'm new to IPSC and shooting in general, carry a Glock 19 and shooting standard with my CZ SP-01 SA.

I've been told I need to start with an iron sights gun to learn the basics and fundatmentals before I can move to

Open Division where everything is faster.

The thing is, I'm not enjoying myself so much. Having real bad case of cross-eye-dominance I find my self really

struggling with the irons, 20-30 min into shooting the sights get fuzzy, I get a headache and it all goes bad from there.

I don't want this to turn into a cross eye dominant thread, so here are my questions to all you open shooters:

1) How long did you shoot irons before "graduating" to an open gun?

2) Do you believe it's important to shoot iron sights before moving to a red dot?
3) Are red dots on open guns (mounted to the frame) easier for someone with cross dominant eyes to shoot?
4) How much softer shooting are these? I'm also a small guy with small hands and struggling with a tennis

elbow that flares up from gripping a gun HARD for long periods of time (I'm right handed and the TE is in my left elbow)
-I just installed a Nitro Fin on my SP-01 and it helped ALOT with the elbow.

Thanks in advance! -Ben

1111111111111.jpg

Open is we’re the fun is at. U said u are new to sport so Do you have reloading machine yet. Shoot open major me personally want to load my own.u could just get a dove tail mount take out rear sight on your cz an put red dot on. Play in carry optics. Just to see if u like the dot, some don’t. That’s what I did before getting 4 to 5 k open gun.

I was thinking the same. Try CO, you're most of the way there. Add a dot on the slide, some extended base pads if you want, take off the thumb rest. But, I think that is a SAO trigger I see. You'll have to make it DA/SA for CO.