Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sunglasses and red dots

sean_stw

I'm new to open class and never shot with a red dot and was wondering what peoples preferences are on to where sunglasses or not to when shooting with a red dot? I'm sure it also depends on what optic but in general what do you prefer.

I have a pair of polarized prescription sunglasses that I'm not sure are maybe to dark. I tried today in direct sun light with the brightness turned all the way up on the sig Romeo 3 I have and the dot is visable but dim i can pick it up but not sure if i might lose it while shooting. When not in direct sun light its not bad to pick up, on the plus side the sunglasses make the dot a lot more crisp, and as far as direct sun light I'm not saying im looking directly into the sun lol. What red dots are you guys using/dot size? Thanks 

37 minutes ago, sean_stw said:

I have a pair of polarized prescription sunglasses that I'm not sure are maybe to dark. I tried today in direct sun light with the brightness turned all the way up on the sig Romeo 3 I have and the dot is visable but dim i can pick it up but not sure if i might lose it while shooting. When not in direct sun light its not bad to pick up, on the plus side the sunglasses make the dot a lot more crisp, and as far as direct sun light I'm not saying im looking directly into the sun lol. What red dots are you guys using/dot size? Thanks 

I use a RTS2 on my gun.

I run just some safety rated sunglasses that are my daily work glasses they are polarized, I habe never had any issues with setting my Romeo 3 dot in any condition unless it's a blue sky bright sunny day and I am aiming at a white target, I don't try to do that on purpose though.  Maybe your battery is low, or be sure that your Romeo is genuine and not a knock off, they are out there and hard to tell the difference. 

Edited by Acsr

4 hours ago, Acsr said: