Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

PCC Technique Tips

I got a little stir-crazy this weekend after having yet another match cancelled because of bad weather (I think it's been two months since I've shot one...) so I made a quick video detailing some things I've learned about PCC this offseason that might help people looking to improve within the division.

I started shooting competitively in college with my collegiate clay team, and I've been drawing on some of that experience to refine my PCC technique. I mostly shot the American games but my short experience with International Skeet, which starts with a low gun, gave me some things to try with the PCC.

Of course, it's not a comprehensive video on the division, so don't hesitate to ask if you've got questions.

Thanks, Danny.  I've only shot AASA and SC with my PCC so far.  I'm contemplating taking it out to RCSC this month for USPSA.

I have also found that hitting the same support hand position after the reload is something I need to work on.  Did you ever try a finger/hand stop for that purpose, or did you just go straight to the grip tape option?

I went straight to the grip tape for this rifle, but only because I've tried VFGs and AFGs on my other ARs and found that I didn't care for them. The grip tape option coupled with the start of the rail there just happens to work really well for me on this rifle. Also, this handguard doesn't have any provisions for mounting accessories besides the short rail sections, so it just wouldn't work with my hand positioning currently.

But it really is just a matter of preference. If you like handstops or other grips, I can't imagine how they could interfere with getting that support hand back in position. If anything, I think they might be more repeatable because there's really only one way to grab them. With practice I bet it would work really well.