Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Different Draw Speeds

AzNooB

I'm going to start off by saying I switched from Glock to CZ 3 months ago, and just recently started to learn how to grip it sufficiently and somewhat consistently on the draw. I'm still working on getting  consistent hand placement and grip strength on the draw, but it's improved vastly from when I first switched over since I started practicing.

On single shots, I can do some Instagram worthy draws - A zone hits on a metric at 7 yards in the 0.95-1.0 second range. However, when I do anything else like Blake drills or Bill drills, my draws slow down a good bit. When doing those drills, my first shot will be in the 1.1-1.4 second range even though they're at the same distance. I can generally get the remaining shots in the A zone, and if they're in the C, they're just outside to the left or right by about an inch or two.

So obviously, I have the capability to do a sub-second draw at 7 yards. But when I add in other tasks, my draw suffers and I'm not exactly sure why. What can I do to work on this?

I also have a bunch of other skills to work, so I'm not sure if it's worth my time to chase this one at the moment. I'm just confused by my lack of consistency when doing a single draw vs shooting a drill that is comprised of multiple shots.

If you can do single shot sub 1 second draw, there should be no difference when doing a bill drill. You are probable sitting on the sights to long when you do a bill drill. At 7 yards, you should be relying on your index for first shot and then pickup the sights in subsequent shots. Bill drills are ok to get used to picking up the sights but I think you’d be better off shooting 2 shoots on 3 targets and that way you’re also working on transitions in practice. 

It is funny you post this because I have found myself doing the exact same.