Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Effect of Temperature in Power Factor/Reloading/Chrono

Friends,

Its getting cold and colder here in GTA Canada. I am also new in reloading with the use of chrono as well. I have findings:

1. In fall season, the PF reading in my CED M2 chrono was higher than this winter, eventhough that the indoor range has heater. With same load specs (primer, powder qty, AOL, crimp).

2. The PF readings were inconsistent (I made sure that all loads are equal in regards to specs)

Questions:

1. What is the percentage effect of surrounding temperature/weather to gun powder (I am using Titegroup for my minors and HS6 for Majors)?

2. Are there tables of this variations out there?

3. Right now, if I got 126 to 129 pf in my minors, Is it right to assume that this will be higher during summer season? I am planning to stock up 9mm minor loads for summer Level 3.

Hoping for all your assistance.

Not always higher in warm weather. Some powders are what we call reverse temp sensitive. Meaning the PF goes up as it gets colder. Best suggestion is just search here for powder temperature sensitivity etc for all the postings we have made over the years

Indoor chrono can be tricky because of the lighting. flickering flourescents shadows , etc. depending on your chrono.  When you said you

1 hour ago, Orbit said:

PF readings were inconsistent

Did you mean from session to session or in that one session ?
If I'm not looking at single digit SD I'm gonna change something. Too much or too little powder can do that. You may have to up your charge a bit or maybe shorten OAL or go to a heavier bullet.  I think you will find most of us load 5 or so over floor... 130-132 for minor, 170-173 major. Really those few extra FPS arnt gonna effect your score at all, but a few fps under sure can.
Ive never seen much of a difference when I chrono my loads and my major match chrono results tend to be pretty close to my home results.
I use tightgroup and WST.