Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Typical primer loss with Dillon 550

When loading mixed 9mm range brass on my 550b I  experience about a 2-3% loss of primers, normally when a primer gets inserted sideways in the primer pocket.  I also may loose some when the primer edge becomes deformed by a crimped primer pocket, and I have to dispose of that primer.  The result is that out of every 1000 primers loaded into the primer tube I may wind up with only 970-980 successfully loaded cartridges.  Is this common?  I try to keep everything clean and aligned properly so as to avoid mechanical press related problems.  Is this loss rate typical?

This has always been a pretty consistent problem.  I've been loading for 47 years, originally on a Rock Chucker, then a SDB starting about 1986, and then the 550b for about the last 5 years.  I've always had this intermittent problem both on my SDB and the 550b.  I just recently started to get PO'd about it

Edited by westy6
spelling

Just curious, but you do have the correct primer cup chingadero installed, and not the one for large primers? The only time I had your issue was when I forgot to switch the primer bar over after loading a bunch of 44s and 45s.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Slow down. If primers are going in sideways or upside down, they were probably that way in the primer cup. You should be glancing at the cup as the slide returns in the up stroke. As for crimped brass, assuming you don’t have a case feeder, a glance at each case head as you move it to station 1 should reveal those. I got in the habit of doing that while turning the case upside down on the way to station 1 after bending a decapping pin on a spent primer that flew into the case bin (but that’s a different 550 issue :)