Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Determining OAL

Mac_Menamy

Good evening everyone,

so I am fairly new to the reloading game. Currently, I reload 9mm on a Dillon 550c. As I’ve done a lot of reading I’ve seen people have an OAL that’s a lot shorter than what any load data says (load data says OAL 1.169 and I see people loading 1.130 ~) is there a reason for this? I’m currently loading 147gr Blue Bullets and my current OAL is about 1.160. Is that ok? I haven’t had any real issues shooting out of my Glock 34 Gen 4 (USPSA Production). Any information would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome aboard, Mac.

Most people try to load as long as possible, ensuring that the rounds fit thru your

mags and feed thru your chamber.

If 1.16" is good, that's great, for 147 BB's.   If you change bullets, you might have                                                                                                                                                                                                  to change the OAL - all depends on each bullet, in your gun.

Mac_Menamy,  1.169" is the maximum overall length of the 9mm Luger round as defined by SAAMI.  http://saami.org/specifications_and_information/publications/download/Z299-3_ANSI-SAAMI_CFPandR.pdf#page=36

Almost everything you load will be shorter than 1.169". Actual OAL varies depending on which bullet your using. The loaded round has to fit in the magazine and chamber and feed reliably. To ensure it fits in the chamber, you have to do the plunk test.  Different barrels might require different OALs because of differences in how the chambers are cut.

Plunk test: http://www.shootingtimes.com/reloading/reloading-tips-the-plunk-test/

If you found a length that works for you, there's no need to change. 

3 minutes ago, superdude said: