Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Occasional HOT rounds

RangerTrace

OK, I'm new to loading 9mm, but not new to loading and I've never experience this with 40.  

The last couple of matches, I've had 3-4 of what feel and sound like magnum rounds mixed in with my super sweet load of 3.5 grains of N320, under a Zero 147 grain JHP to 1.125".  I'm loading on a 650 and I check the power charge very carefully and the start of a loading session.  I guess there is the possibility of set-back, but I've got a good crimp on the rounds and you'd think it would be more frequent if that was the issue.

Any clues? 

26 minutes ago, Youngeyes said:

Over crimping might cause the problem. When I first started loading 9mm I was over crimping and had a few that sounded like hot loads. Recheck the crimping die. I use the lee FCD now. 

When I set my crimp die, I used my barrel as the gauge.  I crimped it just enough to "plunk" in the chamber.  I guess I could start over and make sure my last adjustment wasn't too much.  

Do you run into issues with rounds before the powder drop and remove them?

If you do the extra cycle of the handle with no case under the dropper will pack more powder into the charge bar. The next round will be .1-.3g hotter.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

To check your crimp you might pull a bullet and check for marks from the crimp.

Do you know at what OAL that bullets meets your lands? A slightly longer round going into the lands could be a possible source of what you describe.

Are you using mixed brass? It there any correlation between the headstamp and the event?

Is there any possiblily that you have some Maxxtech brass in what you are loading? This is only a theory but I would suspect that the reduced case capacity of this brass could cause pressure increase.

(This is just a theory, I have not personally used this brass, everyone I know sorts it out as scrap)